The 5 Love Languages

The 5 Love Languages are 5 different ways of expressing and receiving love. Not everyone communicates love in the same way, and likewise, people have different ways they prefer to receive love. The concept of love languages was developed by Gary Chapman, Ph.D., in his book The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love That Lasts, where he describes these five unique styles of communicating love.

Here’s an overview of each of the five love languages:

Quality time
People whose love language is quality time have a

strong desire to actively spend time with their significant other. They value active listening, eye contact, and their partner being fully present without outside interference.

Words of affirmation
People with words of affirmation as a love language value verbal acknowledgments. Words of affirmation are any spoken or written words that confirm, support, uplift, and empathize another person in a positive manner.

Acts of services
People whose love language is acts of service like to be shown how they’re appreciated. They value things like being brought food when they’re sick, having help with chores, being made coffee in the morning when they’re running late…or anything that helps to make their life easier.

People with this love language value the symbolic thought behind gift giving : You feel loved when people give you “visual symbols of love,” as Chapman calls it.

Physical touch
People with physical touch as their love language value physical signs of affection, including kissing, holding hands, cuddling on the couch, and sex. They value the feeling of warmth and comfort that comes with physical touch.

Not loving someone the way they desire can, overtime, cause serious emotional damage on both sides.  You run the risk of the person feeling unloved and you may end up feeling unappreciated. For a healthy relationship, it’s best to know how you and your partner both express and receive love.

Now that we’ve covered what Love Languages are, stay tuned for the next topic: How to Speak Your Partner’s Love Language